Hollywood Reporter, Indiewire, Others pick up “Nightbreed: Director’s Cut” Story – Locals? Not so much


Stop the presses! This just in.  Some Occupy Midian – Nightbreed love from Creative Loafing’s Adam Frazier (also of Geeks of Doom) – discovered shortly after this was written. http://clclt.com/theclog/archives/2013/08/20/new-nightbreed-cut-to-see-light-of-day

Empire Nightbreed p1 (1)

The deal I brokered for Morgan Creek with Shout! Factory, that was completely ignored by the local press, is in the Hollywood Reporter here: http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/heat-vision/shout-factory-release-directors-cut-609031?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+thr%2Fcolumns+%28The+Hollywood+Reporter+-+Columns%29 

Decker (2)

and Indiewire here: http://blogs.indiewire.com/theplaylist/rejoice-monsters-directors-cut-of-clive-barkers-nightbreed-officially-coming-to-home-video-next-year-20130819

NightbreedHellboy creator and artist, Mike Mignola’s rendition of the Cabal crew.

I did this deal from my basement in Charlotte.  It was the biggest horror news at Comiccon – San Diego 2013 but also had an impact, globally. Here’s video of the announcement – Russell Cherrington, the Occupy Midian guys, and me all get a mention at the end. https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=sUrayJ_jmlo

I am very proud of the work we did and I NEVER UNDERSTOOD why Charlotte, NC likes to toot their horn as the center of the Universe if they won’t cover stuff like this. Just because of Homeland, Banshee, Sleepy Hollow, etc. are shot here – doesn’t mean that’s the only news. NC is even home to the #1 hit show Under the Dome, so we gotta compete with that too, I guess.

I notified all the local press weeks ago – it ended up as a footnote some time later in the Observer – and the headline over my project was a gay play entitled, Flourish. http://www.charlotteobserver.com/2013/08/13/4234301/flourish-celebrates-gay-and-lesbian.html

And after providing the information to the Charlotte Observer, they reported “Producer Michael Plumides is promoting…” the film. Promoting? I’m not some rave kid putting fliers on cars in a parking lot!?!  I worked hard on the project.  I am still. Our efforts have had a worldwide impact on horror.   The film also screened for the first time in Charlotte – here at Mad Monster Party 2012 – I was responsible for acquiring the release so Russell Cherrington could show it worldwide. But, I’m also now under contract with Morgan Creek on Clive Barker’s Nightbreed television series in development, so that worked out well.

FULLPELOQUINA reimagining of the character “Peloquin” by Tate Steinsiek (currently on Syfy’s Face Off Season 5), under my art direction. 

http://www.syfy.com/faceoff

Anghus Houvorous of Encore Magazine said in response, “If its in The Hollywood Reporter, its hitting the intended audience. This is a trade style announcement about a cult filmmaker. Whenever I get press releases for stuff to run in Wilmington, the first filter I have to run it through is ‘whats the local impact and/or appeal to the reader’. Stuff like this is cool. I’m a fan of Barker and a fan of horror, but the 25,000 people who read Encore looking for things happening locally wouldn’t really understand the relevance of the story. I’m assuming your local press might have had the same issue. You’re local, but everything else in the story isn’t. So maybe if they ran a piece about you and what you do. An interview, a profile, I could see it. Just two cents from a guy who gets a lot of requests to run stories for a local market.”

Problem is the Occupy Midian movement started in Charlotte (that’s the grassroots peddle-the-pavement movement spearheaded by Ryan Danhauser and Jose Leitaio’ – just a couple of Barker fans who were present at the first screening and came up with this crazy idea www.occupymidian.com). They rallied the fans who signed the petitions – the fans are the real heroes here. But the Nightbreed movement started in Charlotte and the film has been referred to as the “Holy Grail of Horror” by Fandango.  I’m even on the panel at Nightbreed Dragon Con repping Morgan Creek. http://www.dragoncon.org/?q=node%2F609 – so, It’s better than I lead on.

Hey, I ain’t complaining… I gave Dread Central this exclusive interview here mapping out all the details http://www.dreadcentral.com/news/68819/exclusive-michael-plumides-talks-nightbreed-cabal-cut-heading-home-video,

I got my name in EMPIRE http://www.empireonline.com/news/story.asp?NID=38217

and Joblo.com called me a “Cool Cat” http://www.joblo.com/horror-movies/news/nightbreed-the-cabal-cut-getting-a-release-via-scream-factory

And now the prospect of a Nightbreed TV show looks ever more promising.

This entry was posted in horror, Metal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

